You are invited to PUG 2021 - February 23rd and February 25th 2021 – Virtual Event

 

2020 brought major improvements to Pegasus with the 5.0 release. To keep the momentum up in 2021 and ensure Pegasus is heading in the most beneficial direction for our users, we will have our first ever Pegasus Users Group Meeting (PUG 2021). You are hereby invited to attend. You can also optionally choose to speak and share your experiences of using Pegasus, and how Pegasus has benefited your scientific endeavors.

Because of the pandemic, this event will be a virtual workshop spread over 2 days (9AM-1PM Pacific each day).

PUG 2021 aims to give an opportunity to Pegasus users and collaborators to interact Pegasus developers and share ideas and provide feedback. The users group meeting will be a mix of user experience talks along with technical Pegasus talks, tutorials, and office hours.

If you are a past or current Pegasus user and would like to present a 15 minute talk at PUG 2021, please contact us at pegasus@isi.edu with the name of the speaker and title of the talk.

Pegasus Users Workshop 2021

Registration

There is no registration fee associated with this workshop. However, attendees are required to register themselves online using the link. Zoom coordinates for the workshop will be emailed to registered attendees a week before the workshop.

Agenda

Day 1: February 23rd, 2021

Time Title of Talk Presenter
9:00-9:10am PST
noon-12:10pm EST
Introduction and Meeting Logistics
9:10-9:30am PST
12:10-12:30pm EST
Welcome to the Workshop Ewa Deelman (USC/ISI)
9:30-10:00am PST
12:30-1:00pm EST
Pegasus 5.0 Karan Vahi (USC/ISI)
10:00-10:20am PST
1:00-1:20pm EST
Ensemble Manager Ryan Tanaka (USC/ISI)
10:20-10:40am PST
1:20-1:40pm EST
Building an Integrated Assessment Model with Pegasus

Integrated assessment models (IAMs) have become important tools to explore the interactions between different modeled components of socio-environmental systems (SES). One common application is projecting the impacts of potential climate change mitigation policies. Vermont EPSCoR has built an IAM framework using Pegasus for the Lake Champlain basin. The current iteration of the Vermont EPSCoR IAM includes a regional climate model, a land use land change agent-based model, two available hydrology models, and a coupled lake hydrodynamic and water quality model. The Vermont EPSCoR IAM framework is designed to allow bidirectional asynchronous feedbacks between the models and is modular to allow component models to be exchanged for another component model from the same domain. This modular design also allows for smoother upgrades between different versions of the same component model. In this session, the design decisions and tradeoffs made along the way to implement these features will be discussed.
Patrick J Clemins (University of Vermont)
10:40-11:00am PST
1:40-2:00pm EST
Weather Feature Extraction on the Academic Cloud for Drone Route Planning

The concept of Urban Air Mobility (UAM) is rapidly advancing. The skies will soon be filled with small aircraft performing delivery missions, video surveillance, atmospheric sensing, and even providing ad-hoc communications networks for disaster relief efforts. However these vehicles are sensitive to winds, precipitation, and temperature, and their abilities to tolerate these conditions can change as fast as the weather itself. For this reason we have developed a system for monitoring observed and predicted meteorological conditions, extracting areas of risk tailored to the specific and dynamic vehicle parameters of particular flights, and generating suggested routes to efficiently avoid areas of risk as conditions evolve. This is a compute intensive process, with many types of observations and forecast products contributing to the information base. We use the ExoGENI academic cloud as the basis for a scalable infrastructure, and the Pegasus WMS to orchestrate the various product generation and extraction routines which ultimately inform the flight pathing algorithm. Here we describe the overall system, the role of Pegasus in managing the load, and propose interfaces that may be useful going ahead.
Eric Lyons (University of Massachusetts Amherst)
11:00-11:30am PST
2:00-2:30pm EST
Break
11:30-noon PST
2:30-3:00pm EST
Leveraging Pegasus to find colliding black holes in the data from the LIGO and Virgo gravitational-wave observatories

In the last 5 years, the Advanced LIGO and Advanced Virgo observatories have opened the field of gravitational-wave astronomy by observing over 50 colliding black holes and neutron stars. These collisions are among the most extreme and energetic events in the Universe and understanding the properties of such collisions, and the environments in which they happen, offer us a new window to understand the Universe's formation and evolution. Analysing the data taken by these observatories to find compact binary mergers relies on a technique called matched-filtering, which is embarrassingly parallel and well suited for high-throughput computing. The PyCBC codebase is one of the primary analysis toolkits used inside (and outside) the LIGO and Virgo collaborations to observe these objects. In this talk we will discuss how Pegasus is used within PyCBC to create the workflows that are used to detect compact binary mergers, and briefly explain the science that this has enabled.
Ian Harry (LIGO, University of Portsmouth)
noon-12:20pm PST
3:00-3:20pm EST
Connecting Observation and Theory---Black Hole Modeling with Large Scale Synthetic Data Generation." Chi-kwan Chan, Michael Janssen (Event Horizon Telescope, University of Arizona)
12:20-12:40pm PST
3:20-3:40pm EST
Running Rubin LSST Science pipelines on AWS Dino Bektešević (LSST, University of Washington)
12:40-1:00pm PST
3:40-4:00pm EST
XENONnT Evan Shockley (University of Chicago)
1:00-1:15pm PST
4:00-4:15pm EST
Coffee Break
1:15-2:00pm PST
4:15-5:00pm EST
Pegasus 5.0 Tutorial

 

Day 2: February 25th, 2021

Time Title of Talk Presenter
9:00-9:10am PST
noon-12:10pm EST
Introduction and Meeting Logistics
9:10-9:30am PST
12:10-12:30pm EST
Advanced Task Monitoring with Panorama George Papadimitriou (USC/ISI)
9:30-9:50am PST
12:30-12:50pm EST
Pegasus Hub Rafael Ferreira da Silva (USC/ISI)
9:50-10:10am PST
12:50-1:10pm EST
ML Workflows with Pegasus Patrycja Krawczuk (USC/ISI)
10:10-10:30am PST
1:10-1:30pm EST
NLP SAGA Workflows Marjorie Freedman (USC/ISI)
10:30-11:00am PST
1:30-2:00pm EST
Cybershake Workflows Scott Callaghan (Southern California Earthquake Center, USC)
11:00-11:30am PST
2:00-2:30pm EST
Break
11:30-11:50am PST
2:30-2:50pm EST
ProkEvo: an automated, reproducible, and scalable framework for high-throughput bacterial population genomics analyses using Pegasus WMS Natasha Pavlovikj (University of Nebraska)
11:50-12:10pm PST
2:50-3:10pm EST
GeoEDF: A Framework for Geospatial Research Workflows

Earth science research typically involves a complex workflow of data acquisition from various remote data sources, followed by preprocessing, data preparation and fusion, and finally, simulation or analysis and validation. In practice, such workflows are still a mix of custom-built, non-reusable code, often requiring the use of desktop tools and intermediate data transfers at various stages. Researchers consequently end up spending inordinate amounts of time on data wrangling rather than focusing on actual science. GeoEDF is designed to address these inefficiencies by making remote datasets directly usable in computational code and facilitating earth science workflows that are based entirely in a science gateway. GeoEDF enables the composition of declarative, end-to-end, “plug-and-play” workflows in the earth sciences that can be executed on diverse computational resources via close integration with the Pegasus workflow management system.
Rajesh Kalyanam (Purdue University)
12:10-12:30pm PST
3:10-3:30pm EST
TBD -
12:30-12:50pm PST
3:30-3:50pm EST
TBD -
12:50-1:00pm PST
3:50-4:00pm EST
Closing Remarks / Coffee Break -
1:00-2:00pm PST
4:00-5:00pm EST
Pegasus Office Hours Pegasus Team